Lately in my newsletter I’ve been talking a lot about animal products and pastured meats and generally meat-eater kinda stuff. There’s a reason for this of course. A few reasons, actually. It wasn’t until earlier this year that I learned about the nutrient density in animal products and that there are many animal products that are actually incredibly nutrient dense. Butter, oysters, raw milk, grass fed beef, pastured chicken eggs, and yogurt all make the top 14 list. Butter is actually at the #1 spot and in the much-lauded book Nourishing Traditions there are a full 2 pages dedicated just to butter. Who would’ve ever thought, right?

I am on one hand baffled that I never knew that these foods were so nutrient rich until recently since I am always reading about something related to nutrition. On the other hand, I’m not so surprised when I look at the fact that 98% of the time when either people think about healthy, nutrient rich food or when nutritional professionals mention these foods, they’re talking about various vegetables and other plant foods. Don’t get me wrong, I was probably the only kid that really liked spinach and I like my miso soup with wakame (seaweed), but I’ve never been the type to put 2/3 of vegetables on my plate next to my main course (or make vegetables the main course!). This constant push for plant foods and my bioindividuality clashing against it really made me confused. I thought I had to accept this specific way (somehow) but then I found out that the truth had been held from me. When I learned more about animal products and nutrient density, I was amazed; astonished perhaps. After so many years studying nutrition, here finally was something I had never read before in the same sentence: animals product & nutrient dense.

I have known individuals who, in disgust of factory farming, have become vegetarian almost in protest of what is going on. I find myself doing something almost similar in a way. I am tired of how the full spectrum of food is ignored and most of the talk about healthy food is focused solely on plant foods. Due to this, I want to promote a better understanding of animal products and their relationship to positive health. So therefore, you’ll see more articles from me about animal products and how great they are.

Now, for a clarification. Despite my glowing promotion of animal products and pastured meats, don’t get confused and think that I am saying that this is the only way to good health. There is no such thing as a singular way to good health! Take a look at the cultural diets of various people around the world. There are people who eat lots of grains, and there are people who eat lots of meat, and likewise there are individuals that eat no meat (like Buddhist monks). There are many ways to good health, and they all involve eating fresh, local, whole foods.  Never forget that and don’t let anyone tell you any different.

